Message from the Board Chair

It's an honor and privilege to support Lincoln Public Schools and its 41,000+ students. Although we have a high-achieving district, 46% of students live in poverty. There's a tremendous opportunity to help students across the city. Tax dollars are important for operations, but private dollars provide additional resources that help students learn and succeed.

I couldn't be more excited to work with our board members and with the Foundation for Lincoln Public Schools to make this happen. We have several new members on the 2019-20 Board—Patrick Beans, Brent Comstock, Anne Loudon, Britta Muhleisen, John Olsson, Dr. Vann Price and Natalia Wiita—who are joining a talented and passionate Board. Together, we are proud to support the needs of students across the district.

Jim Townsend, Board Chair, FLPS

P.S. Please reach out to any of the board members if you have a question on how you can support FLPS, would like to learn more about what FLPS does, or would like to ask one of us to speak at an event or to a group.

Board Officers

  • Jim Townsend, Chair, Executive Committee Chair

    Kawasaki Motors Manufacturing

  • Piyush Srivastav, Vice-Chair, Fund Development Committee Chair

    President, NAQS- Environmental Experts

  • Bruce Mieth, Treasurer, Budget & Finance Committee Chair

    Senior Vice President, Ameritas Life Insurance

  • Russ Sebek, Secretary
  • Jackie Ostrowicki, Immediate Past Chair

    Assistant Vice President, University of Nebraska

Board Members

  • Christina Ball

    Attorney, Baylor Evnen Curtiss Grimit & Witt

  • Patrick Beans

    Amandla LLC

  • Rita Bennett

    President, Lincoln Education Association

  • Cliff Carlson

    Senior Recruiter, Hudl

  • Jared Carlson

    Director of Assurity Ventures, Assurity

  • Brent Comstock

    BCom Solutions

  • Kimberly Goins

    Executive Director, Malone Community Center

  • Jessica Greenwald

    Vice President, Inspro Insurance

  • Jon Gross

    Senior Vice President, Union Bank and Trust

  • Cathy Hedstrom

    Broker, Bettenhausen Insurance Services

  • Dr. Steve Joel

    Superintendent, Lincoln Public Schools

  • Valerie Jones

    Assistant Professor, College of Journalism and Mass Communications, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

  • Anne Loudon

    Union Bank & Trust

  • Britta Muhleisen


  • John Olsson


  • Walter Powell

    Equity, Diversity, and Multicultural Administrator, Lincoln Public Schools

  • Dr. Vann Price

    Lincoln Public Schools

  • Bob Rauner

    LPS Board of Education Member, District 6

  • Steve Schmidt

    Market President, Frontier Bank

  • Natalia Wiita

    Lincoln Journal Star

  • Ginny Wood

    Founder, Fuel_COO