Ruth I. Eickman Outstanding Early Childhood Educator Award

Award Amount: TBD

In 1988, at the Lincoln Public School’s Early Childhood Fair, an award was made to an outstanding individual for her contributions to the field of early childhood education. That individual was Ruth Eickman. Ms. Eickman was present the next year as Rutha Weatherl received the Ruth Eickman Award, but was in Africa working in the Peace Corps in 1990 and 1991. In 1992, after returning from her work in Africa, Miss Eickman arranged to fund an award stipend as part of the Ruth Eickman Award.

This award is presented annually to a Lincoln Public Schools early childhood educator who has demonstrated outstanding commitment to young children and child centered learning, has been involved with the families of these young children, has shown an appreciation of children’s and families’ uniqueness, uses developmentally appropriate practices when working with young children and has demonstrated the use of innovative practices in the field of early childhood.

Who is eligible

Any certified LPS early childhood educator (Family Educator, ECSE teacher, Early Childhood SLP working with children ages birth to 5 or K-2) is eligible to receive this award. Individuals may be nominated by their colleagues, their principals or their supervisors. You are encouraged to nominate an individual with whom you work to receive this prestigious award.

Nominating Process

Individuals may be nominated by their colleagues, their principals, or their supervisors


When nominating an educator, briefly describe the nominee in relation to his/her:

Commitment to young children and child-centered learning

Involvement with families

Appreciation of children’s/families’ uniqueness

Contributions to young children and their families through community activities.

You may also include those things that you feel best exemplify the nominee’s outstanding contributions to the field and profession of Early Childhood Education.

Selection Committee

Applications and all paperwork are handled through Cara Lucas-Richt, Director of Early Childhood, and a selection committee. The award winner will be approved by the Foundation for Lincoln Public Schools

Nominations Process

An individual or group may submit nominations. Nominations are to be sent to Cara Lucas-Richt at, Box 1 or by phone at 402.436.1995. Please include your name and building. And be sure to include the nominee’s name, building, assignment and history of services in the district.

Nominations will be will be reviewed by the selection committee. The Ruth Eickman Award recipient will be announced in April at the Early Childhood Celebration at Southeast Community College.

Deadline Extended